Namely Names 2012

Jacob Trier Frederiksen receives EU funding for fusion energy research

10 December 2012

To research into developing technology that can produce energy using fusion, the EU has given 7.5 million kroner in funding to a consortium of researchers from 16 countries, including researchers from the Niels Bohr Institute.

Read more

Brian Møller Andersen receives 10 million to research superconductors

12 November 2012

Brian Møller Andersen, associate professor of condensed matter physics at the Niels Bohr Institute has received 10 million kroner from the Lundbeck Foundation to research new super superconducting materials

Read more

Raining millions to NBI researchers

08 October 2012

Six researchers at the Niels Bohr Institute, Kim Lefmann, Klaus Galsgaard, Uffe Gråe Jørgensen, Poul Henrik Damgaard, Jan W. Thomsen and Peter Lodahl have received  grants from the Danish Agency for Science Technology and Innovation, FNU.

Read more

Niels Obers new Deputy Head of Research

05 September 2012

Professor of theoretical particle physics, Niels Obers is the new Deputy Head of the Niels Bohr Institute. He came to the Niels Bohr Institute in 2002 and has been the group leader for Theoretical Particle Physics and Cosmology since 2007.

Read more

Robert Feidenhans'l is the new head of the Niels Bohr Institute

24 August 2012

Professor of nanophysics, Robert Feidenhans'l is the new head of the Niels Bohr Institute. He is coming from a position as the deputy head of research and begins his new position as head of institute on 1 September

Read more

Martin Pessah receives ERC grant to research accretion disks around stars and black holes

21 August 2012

Theoretical astrophysicist, Martin Pessah, has been awarded 13.3 million kroner from the European Research Council, ERC, to research into the fundamental processes in the formation and evolution of planets, stars and black holes

Read more

Oxford professor Subir Sarkar gets Niels Bohr professorship

21 June 2012

Oxford professor Subir Sarkar gets Niels Bohr professorshipProfessor of theoretical particle physics and cosmology at Oxford University, Subir Sarkar, has been awarded a Niels Bohr Professorship by the Danish National Research Foundation. The professorship is a grant of 29 million kroner

Read more

Anders S. Sørensen receives ERC grant for research into open quantum systems

20 June 2012

Professor of theoretical quantum physics, Anders Søndberg Sørensen has been awarded nearly 11 million kroner from the European Research Council, ERC for research into gaining control over so-called ‘noise effects’ in atomic quantum systems.

Read more

Money for Mars

15 May 2012

Morten Bo Madsen, head of the Mars research group in Astrophysics and Planetary Research at the Niels Bohr Institute, has received a grant of nearly 2.2 million kroner from the The Danish Council for Independent Research

Read more

John Renner Hansen new Dean of Faculty

08 May 2012

Head of Department, John Renner Hansen, Niels Bohr Institute is the new dean of the merged Natural and Life Sciences Faculty. "It is with great enthusiasm, I said yes to the rector's offer to become dean of the Faculty.

Read more