19 June 2009

The Amalienborg Award goes to Dorthe Dahl-Jensen

”Two prominent professors from the University of Copenhagen receive the Amalienborg Award in appreciation of their -in the most literal sense - in depth research in Greenland, which has taught us much about the evolution of the Earth and the climatic conditions”, commented Queen Margrethe in her speech to the the two recipients of this year's award, professor of ice physics Dorthe Dahl-Jensen, Niels Bohr Institute, and professor of geology Minik Rosing, Geological Museum.

The award ceremony took place on Wednesday, June 17th at Amalienborg in Christian IX's Palace. The Queen Margrethe and Prince Henrik Foundation instituted the Amalienborg Award in 1972 to support and encourage excellent scientific research, danish authors or socially engaged people who have done an especially outstanding piece of work. 

Professor Dorthe Dahl-Jensen

Dorthe Dahl-Jensen is the leader of the Greenlandic ice core drilling. The NEEM project (North Greenlandic Eemian Ice Drilling), located in the middle of the ice sheet in Northwest Greenland, will bore through the almost 3 kilometer thick ice cap. Analysis of the contents of the ice cores, including air and dust, will map the climate almost 130.000 years back in time.

”A fascinating journey down to the previous interglacial period, the Eemian. By mapping the changing climate of the past one can simultaneously create models for the evolution of the climate of the future. That is to say, Dorthe Dahl-Jensen uses the past to explain and understand the future”, explained the queen in her speech to Dorthe Dahl-Jensen.

Professor Minik Rosing

Of professor Minik Rosing's work, the queen spoke about his research of the oldest rocks in the world which are found in West Greenland and the exploration of a unique, 3.8 billion year old 'timeline' full of fascinating traces of the early life on Earth as well his completely revolutionary theory that it was ocean microbes that formed carbon particles and oxygen almost 4 billion years ago and with that formed the massive quantities of granite which we recognize today as the Earth's continents.



The Amalienborg Award is awarded periodically and since its establishment has only been given out 11 times, the last time occurring in 2005.

This year's two recipients professor Dorthe Dahl-Jensen and professor Minik Rosing will each receive 100.000 kroner and will also be presented with the Amalienborg Medal, which was created by professor Mogens Bøggild in 1983.