– Niels Bohr Institute - University of Copenhagen

Charles M. Marcus

Charles M. Marcus


Member of:


    Center for Quantum Devices                                                tel. +45 20 34 11 81
    Microsoft Quantum Lab - Copenhagen                                  email: marcus@nbi.ku.dk
    Niels Bohr Institute                                                                web: http://qdev.dk
    University of Copenhagen
    Universitetsparken 5
    2100 Copenhagen
    Born October 8, 1962 in Pittsburgh, PA (USA)

    Current Research Interests

    Experimental condensed matter physics
    Physical realizations of quantum information systems in semiconductors and superconductors
    Topological materials, Majorana modes, and quantum information
    Superconductor-semiconductor hybrid devices
    Spin qubits and electron-nuclear interaction in qubits
    Novel approaches to magnetic resonance imaging








    • Ph.D. in Physics, 1990, Harvard University
    • A.M. in Physics, 1987, Harvard University, Dissertation title: "Dynamics of Analog Neural Networks"
    • B.S. in Physics with Honors and Departmental Distinction, 1984, Stanford University


    • 2017-present Professor, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
    • 2016-present Principal Researcher, AI&R, Microsoft Corp.
    • 2012-2017 Villum Kahn Rasmussen Professor, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
    • 2009–2010 Visiting Professor, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
    • 2000–2012 Professor, Department of Physics, Harvard University
    • 1999–2000 Associate Professor, Department of Physics, Stanford University.
    • 1992–1999 Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, Stanford University

    Professional Activities

    • External Advisory Board, CUNY Advanced Science Research Center, NY USA
    • Director, Center for Quantum Devices (DNRF Center of Excellence), 2012-
    • Scientific Director, Harvard Center for Nanoscale Systems, 2004-2009
    • Site Director, National Nanofabrication Infrastructure Network, 2004-2009
    • External Advisory Board, Georgia Tech MRSEC
    • Executive Advisory Board, QIST Grand Challenge, Sandia National Laboratories
    • External Board, Physics Frontier Center, Joint Quantum Institute, University of Maryland 2008-2011
    • Director, School on Nano-Electronics, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2006
    • Organizer, Aspen School on Interactions, Coherence & Control in Mesoscopic Systems, 2006
    • Advisory Board, Theory Institute, Argonne National Laboratory
    • EU Quantum Information Processing IRC International Advisory Group
    • Advisory Board, Massachusetts Nanotechnology Initiative
    • Series Editor, Mesoscopic Physics, Oxford University Press
    • Advisory Board, Wonderfest, A Festival of Science
    • Director, Workshop on Quantum Systems Out of Equilibrium, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2004
    • Director, Workshop on Mesoscopic Physics and Electron Interactions, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2001
    • Director, Extended Workshop on Mesoscopic Physics, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 1998
    • Organizer, National Academy of Sciences "Frontiers of Science", 1995

    Awards and Honors

    • Award for Research Excellence in Nanotechnology, University of Pennsylvania, 2014 
    • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2013
    • Foreign member, Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters, 2012
    • Aalto Lectureship, University of Helsinki, Helsinki, Finland, 2010
    • Poynting Lectureship, University of Birmingham, Birmingham, UK, 2010
    • Fellow, American Physical Society, 2009
    • AAAS Newcomb-Cleveland Prize, 2006
    • Ehrenfest Lecturer, Leiden University, 1997
    • N.S.F. Presidential Faculty Fellow/PECASE 1997
    • A.S.S.U. Teaching Award, Stanford University, 1996
    • A.R.O. Young Investigator Award, 1995
    • A. P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship, 1994
    • N.S.F. Young Investigator Award, 1994
    • O.N.R. Young Investigator Award, 1994
    • Terman Fellowship, Stanford University 1994
    • IBM Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1990
    • AT&T Bell Laboratories Ph.D. Scholarship, 1985
    • National finalist, Apker Award for Undergraduate Research in Physics, 1984
    • Rebecca L. Carrington Memorial Award, Physics Department, Stanford University, 1984
    • Member of Phi Beta Kappa, elected 1984
    • Fannie and John Hertz Foundation Scholarship, 1981

    ID: 34319618